Wednesday, April 17, 2013

JR Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood

I am SO ashamed of myself. How could I have waited this long to review one of my FAVORITE series in the entire world? A series that is SO good, in fact, that even my faja (Daddy!) loves it and constantly asks me when the next one gets released. He loved the tv show True Blood, and when I told him it was based on a series of books he read the whole thing. When he asked for more I handed him Dark Lover and it was all over. Want a giggle: imagine a handsome 65 year old guy riding next to you on a plane reading what he's dubbed "Vampire Porn"..... baaahahahaha! Still tickles me to death. Anywho!
Each book in this action packed series is written about one of the members of the Black Dagger Brotherhood, which is group of gorgeous, huge, muscular, dominating, delicious vampires who fight to protect their kind from lessers. Taken from the BDB Glossary:
lesser n. De-souled human who targets vampires for extermination as a member of the Lessening Society. Lessers must be stabbed through the chest in order to be killed, otherwise they are ageless. They do not eat or drink and are impotent. Over time, their hair, skin and irises lose pigmentation until they are blonde, blushless and pale-eyed. They smell like baby powder. Inducted into the Society by the Omega, they retain a ceramic jar thereafter into which their heart was placed after it was removed.
These stories are much different than any other vampire romance line I've read because there is so much action in it. Its not like reading a regular paranormal romance novel, its more like reading a sci fi/ thriller/ fantasy novel with a boat load of romance (and erotica) thrown in for good measure! Its so intense and well written that during a fight scene, you are as tense and clenched up as if you were watching it in a movie! When a BDB novel is release, this Wife/Mommy is hard to find. Im usually locked away in the bathroom in my garden tub, letting out the cold water and refilling with hot...a few times over. (Daddy is on duty, but in return gets rewarded...because this series is HOT HOT HOT!!!)
Taken from website: In the beginning there are six warrior vampires in the brotherhood. They include:

Wrath: the last purebred vampire on the planet and the vampire race's king. Essentially blind, he is the leader who is not willing to lead until he is forced to care for a half-breed he falls in love with.

Rhage: the strongest of the brothers and the best fighter. Cursed by the Scribe Virgin, he is possessed by a dark side which is a danger to everyone. Ultimately, though, he is gentled by a very special human woman.

Zsadist: the most lethal of the brothers. A former blood slave who was mercilessly tortured during the first hundred years of his life, Z is the one who has fallen farthest from grace. But he is utterly worthy of redemption.

Phury: the loyal one, the one who sacrifices himself for others. Phury is Zsadist's twin brother and a celibate who cannot truly live because of everything his biological brother has lost. Used to giving rather than receiving, he needs love coming back at him to bring him alive.

Vishous: the most intelligent and the one who is specially gifted. His curse is his ability to prognosticate: he sees the future, though not the 'when' of events so he is tortured by his inability to save those he loves from danger. His love puts him at odds with a secret about himself he did not know and could never have guessed.

Tohrment: the steady one, the calm one. He is the one whose betrayal by fate will cut the deepest.

I call dibs on Rhage...Im serious...I will cut you...

You will fall for each and every one of these guys, and the plot just gets better and better with every book. There are always new characters added in each book so the story line could just keep going and going. And I hope it does. Forever.

JR Ward is amazing. If you visit her website, facebook, watch her interviews, or read the Guide that goes along with the series, she is just incredible. She's hilarious, and her characters "talk" to her. She "interviews" them and she writes what they "tell" her to. Basically she comes across as their biographer instead of a fictional author. Its so fun to go back through all of the interviews with the guys. And its seriously so hard to tell if she is just being funny, or if she truly hears them talking to her..... Im gonna go with a little bit of both~

Books in Order:
Dark Lover
Lover Eternal
Lover Awakened
Lover Revealed
Lover Unbound
Lover Enshrined
Insider's Guide
Lover Avenged
Lover Mine
Lover Unleashed
Lover Reborn
Lover At Last (Releases TOMORROW!!!!! 3/26/13)

No comments:

Post a Comment